PhD Awards

YEASTCELL Roll of Honour

6th March 2019

AnjaCongratulations Dr Anja Brickwedde who makes it 10 out of 11. I think these guys win the award for best dressed at a viva.

Pictured are: Dr Jean-Marc Daran (far left), Anja, Dr John Morrissey and Prof Jack Pronk (far right).


6 & 7th December 2018

fredericoTwo more YEASTCELL theses were defended successfully this month.

Congratulations to Dr Frederico Magalhães pictured here with supervisor Dr Brian Gibson, opponent Prof Amparo Querol and committee chair Prof Sandip Bankar.


Many congratulations also to Dr Leonie Wenning, pictured with thesis supervisor Dr Verena Siewers and below with YEASTCELL’s own Prof Paola Branduardi.20181207_163223


5th June 2018:

After a long but successful thesis defense it was smiles all round. Congratulations Dr Javier Varela.De7q1pGVMAALw2d

28th May 2018:

And then there were 6…….. congratulations Dr Manuela Gottardi


23rd February 2018:

The first viva of 2018 done and dusted. Congratulations Dr Raul Ortiz-Merino.

Raul Viva

20th December 2017:

Matthias viva2Another successful PhD defense at INRA – two in two days – we can hardly keep up.

Congratulations Dr Matthias Eder.

18th December 2017:

David Viva

Congratulations Dr David Ferreira – another YEASTCELL PhD thesis defended. Joint Doctorate from INRA Montpellier and University College Cork.

David pictured here with one of his supervisors Anne Ortiz-Julien from Lallemand.

27th November 2017:

Congratulations Angela de Carvalho who completed her research at Evolva, Copenhagen and was awarded her PhD by the University of Southern Denmark.Angela viva

26th October 2017:

Congratulations Dr Nurzhan Kuanyshev, the first YEASTCELL ESR to defend his thesis. A joint doctorate from University of Bicocca and University College Cork. Nuri is pictured here with his supervisor Paola Branduardi, and co-supervisor John Morrissey.